Skip to main content

Nürburgring 24 Hours: After an enthralling final phase, the Porsche 911 GT3 R with the starting number 912 has won the 24-hour race in the Eifel.

In pouring rain, the nine-eleven fielded by the Manthey-Racing team took the lead 70 minutes before the end of the race and held onto it to the flag. This marks Porsche’s first victory since 2011 on the legendary long-distance racetrack and hands the brand its twelfth victory.

The Porsche 911 GT3 R (#912) took up the race on Saturday at 15:30 hrs in bright sunshine from sixth on the grid, but fell far behind with a puncture. During the night, the driver line-up of Richard Lietz (A), Patrick Pilet (F), Frédéric Makowiecki (F) and Nick Tandy (GB) caught up to the frontrunners and moved into second place despite a time penalty. When the race was restarted on Sunday after fog halted the race at 13.45 hours, the final driver Frédéric Makowiecki snatched the lead with a masterful overtaking manoeuvre and crossed the finish line in first place after 135 laps.

The Falken Motorsports squad concluded the 24-hour race in Germany’s Eifel region in ninth place. After starting from second on the grid, the #44 Porsche 911 GT3 R managed to remain in the top five for a long time. As rain set in during the night, Klaus Bachler (D), Sven Müller (D), Martin Ragginger (A) and Dirk Werner (D) lost contact to the front pack and were unable to close the gap.

The Nürburgring 24-hour race is one of the largest motorsport events in the world and this year attracted 210,000 spectators. At the Eifel classic, more than 500 drivers in 148 cars competed. With 43 vehicles, Porsche was the most strongly represented marque at the Eifel marathon.